True Forgiveness

18 03 2008

Prodigal SonRecently heard a story of a young lady who walked away from a relationship with God. It made me think of the prodigal son, and myself.

 KJV
11And he said, A certain man had two sons: 12And the younger of them said to his father, Father, give me the portion of goods that falleth to me. And he divided unto them his living.13And not many days after the younger son gathered all together, and took his journey into a far country, and there wasted his substance with riotous living.14And when he had spent all, there arose a mighty famine in that land; and he began to be in want.15And he went and joined himself to a citizen of that country; and he sent him into his fields to feed swine.16And he would fain have filled his belly with the husks that the swine did eat: and no man gave unto him.17And when he came to himself, he said, How many hired servants of my father’s have bread enough and to spare, and I perish with hunger!18I will arise and go to my father, and will say unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and before thee,19And am no more worthy to be called thy son: make me as one of thy hired servants.20And he arose, and came to his father. But when he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him.21And the son said unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in thy sight, and am no more worthy to be called thy son.22But the father said to his servants, Bring forth the best robe, and put it on him; and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet:23And bring hither the fatted calf, and kill it; and let us eat, and be merry:24For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry.

The young man turned his back on his family to pursue his own dreams and desires. Jesus was using this story to show the amazing unconditional love of God.

When I was young I myself made a decision to go my own way. After all I was 19 or 20 (I can’t remember exactly) and I knew all that I ever would need to know about life. Oh how foolish I was.

Within a year I was more miserable than I had ever been in life. After several months of going and doing “whatever I wanted”, which was all bad by the way, I came to myself one day and realized just how far down the wrong road I had wandered. I took a good look around me and realized I had made the worst mistakes anyone could have ever made and it was a long road home.

Thank God I had enough sense to pack up and head home or I would probably be dead today. I had lost my job, my girlfriend, my salvation, my sanity, and more. I left everything that day except for things I really needed and I hit the road for home without stopping.

Parents are blessed by God with the ability to unconditionally love their children. I understand parents get upset with their children from time to time but when the whole world crumbles and their children come knocking any loving parent will always open the door. My mom is that kind of parent and did not even question me when I wanted to come back home. 

I needed a good lecture and lots of discipline but all mom gave me was a pair of open arms and my bedroom back. No lectures, no discipline, just an open door. I bet she knew I was already kicking myself enough at this point.

The prodigals father was the same as my mom. Open arms and running straight toward his son he welcomed him home. Never questions the son about anything that had happened while he was gone. He wasn’t concerned about the inheritance the son had wasted. All he was concerned about was his sons well being and now his son was going to be just fine.

This young lady reminded me of myself. I was afraid of what people would think, but my longing for home was greater than all the fears. I hope and am praying this young lady makes it home safely.

Actions

Information

One response

11 05 2008
debplant

This article really paints a picture of the depth of God’s love for all His children, providing hope for anyone who thinks he/she is beyond forgiveness. It just takes a decision to make a u-turn.

Leave a Reply

